CALVIN JOHNSON ON VICODIN DURING ROOKIE SEASON

 

When the Detroit Lions took rookie wide receiver, Calvin Johnson of Georgia Tech, with the 2nd pick in last year’s NFL draft, he was labeled a “can’t miss” superstar sure to put up monster numbers in the Lion’s high-powered offense.

It didn’t work out that way. Johnson had a respectable 48 catches for 756 yards. Not bad for a rookie, but certainly not SUPERSTAR numbers.

Now details are coming out that Johnson played virtually his entire rookie season with a back injury. The injury was so severe Johnson was forced to take the painkiller Vicodin every day-and twice during games. In a recent interview, Johnson says after suffering a back injury in the third game of the season,

“I was on meds the rest of the season. I was taking Vicodin twice a game just to get through the game,” Johnson said. “I stayed hurt the whole season, probably because I was trying to come back too soon. But I’m not going to be the kind of guy who’s going to say, ‘I can’t do this or this because I’m hurt.’ ”

Vicodin is the same painkiller that former Packer quarterback, Brett Favre, became addicted to early in his career.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment