DISGRUNTLED PITCHER GRABS GM BY THE THROAT

SHAWN CHACON

Well, you’ve got to hand it to Houston Astros pitcher Shawn Chacon. He found a pretty unique way to lose his job with the Houston Astros.

Chacon has been suspended indefinitely by the Astros after he physically attacked Ed Wade, the club’s general manager. Chacon, who had been removed from the Astros starting rotation, admits he grabbed Wade by the neck and threw him to the ground following a heated exchange in the team’s dining room.

Chacon described the attack on his GM in great detail to Kristie Rieken of the Associated Press:

“I sat down to eat and Ed Wade came to me and very sternly said, ‘You need to come with me to the office,”’ Chacon said. “I said, ‘For what?’ I said, ‘I don’t want to go to the office with you and (manager Cecil) Cooper.’ And I said, ‘You can tell me whatever you got to tell me right here.’ He’s like, ‘Oh, you want me to tell you right here?’ And I said, ‘Yeah.’ I’m not yelling. I’m calm.”

Chacon said things went downhill from there.

“He started yelling and cussing,” Chacon said of Wade, according to a story on the Chronicle’s Web site. “I’m sitting there and I said to him very calmly, ‘Ed, you need to stop yelling at me. Then I stood up and said, ‘You better stop yelling at me.’ I stood up. He continued and was basically yelling.”

Chacon said that after Wade told him he needed to “look in the mirror,” it got worse.

“So at that point I lost my cool and I grabbed him by the neck and threw him to the ground. I jumped on top of him.”

ASTROS GM ED WADE

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

