RICKY HATTON RETURNS

RICKY HATTON

British boxer Ricky Hatton returns to the ring this month. Hatton is scheduled to take on Juan Lazcano in England May 24th. A crowd of 55,000 is expected at the City of Manchester Stadium.

Hatton has not fought since his lopsided loss to Floyd Mayweather in December. In a recent interview Hatton said,

I think I’ve improved since my last fight. Because of what happened against Mayweather, I had to. Losing again is not an option. My pride’s hurt but my ego isn’t. It was really hard for me to swallow.”

“If you look at all the fighters over the years, if all of them had finished after their first defeat there would be no all-time greats,” Hatton added. “Only Rocky Marciano retired undefeated. Fighters are remembered as all-time greats by the manner in which they bounce back.”

Although he made an estimated $30 million for the Mayweather fight, Hatton says he has no thoughts of retiring. He was 44-0 before his loss to Mayweather and says he wants to improve his “legacy.”

Hatton says that legacy would be damaged if he gave up after “the first time I got knocked on my ass.”

HATTON WAS KNOCKED OUT VERSUS FLOYD MAYWEATHER IN DECEMBER

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

